Reiki Lineage

What is Reiki lineage?

Reiki lineage is a direct line of teaching that the teacher has been trained in. A lineage will reflect the knowledge that the teacher will pass on to the student. That is why different lineages will have different understanding of working with the system of Reiki. 

Lineages in Western Reiki will always have these 3 people at the beginning of their lineage: 


1 - Mikao Usui

2 - Chujiro Hayashi

​3 - Hawayo Takata

Hawayo Takata, who brought Reiki to the West from Japan in 1930s, during her life (1900-1980) she initiated 22 Reiki Masters, who created their own lineages since. So the next person in any Western Reiki lineage will be one of those her 22 Reiki Masters:

  1 -  George Araki                                         12 - Harry Kuboi 

       2 -  Dorothy Baba                                        13 - Ethel Lombardi

                3 -  Ursula Baylow                                       14 - Barbara McCullough

          4 -  Rick Bockner                                          15 - Mary McFadyen  

  5 -  Patricia Bowling                                    16 - Paul Mitchell

    6 -  Barbara Brown                                      17 - Bethel Phaigh

    7 -  Fran Brown                                            18 - Shinobu Saito 

         8 -  Phyllis Furumoto                                   19 - Virginia Samdahl

    9 -  Beth Gray                                                20 - Wanja Twan

             10-  John Gray                                                 21 - Barbara Weber Ray

                                    11-  Iris Ishikuro                                              22 - Kay Yamashita                                                                    


My Reiki Lineage

Mikao Usui - Chujiro Hayashi - Hawayo Takata - Wanja Twan - Anneli Twan - Olga Sampson 

This form of Reiki is traditional lineage that follows Hawayo Takata's teachings

without any modernisation or alteration.

Wanja Twan learned Reiki in 1978-1979 from Hawayo Takata in British Columbia, Canada. Her daughter Anneli Twan was first initiated by Hawayo Takata when she was 10 years old. She became a Reiki Master at 16 years of age. Since, she has taught Reiki in Canada and other countries when traveling with Wanja or by herself.  

Olga Sampson was initiated as a Reiki Master by Anneli Twan with Wanja's presence and support at their home in British Columbia, Canada in 4th June 2013.   

Anneli, Wanja and me on 4th June 2013, Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Anneli, Wanja and me on 4th June 2013, Nanaimo, BC, Canada